Virtual Fashion Slaves and Mercenaries Ahoy

“The World Ends With You” is indeed proving to be a pretty solid Square-Enix title. I’m not going to bother writing out a whole review about it, but I will mention a few features I found cool:

  • They more than doubled the challenge of typical JRPG action combat by requiring you control separate fights on two screens at once.
  • They separated individual stylus gestures into equipped “pins.” It’s like a mini game for every equipped weapon.
  • The artistic style, which exudes pure creative talent, exalts Japanese and youth culture to a fantastic (likely better than life) degree.
  • The JPop/Trance music is an unusual choice that lends a unique flavor to the game.
  • The plot somehow makes the main characters’ forced slavery (“do this in x amount of time or be erased”) downright hip.
  • There’s a Tamagotchi-like system that allows your characters to digest only so much stat-enhancing food in a 24 (real life) hour period. (Your equipped “pins” also level up while not playing.)
  • There’s nice additional features such as wireless-compatible mini games (perhaps as to be expected from the makers of Crystal Chronicles).

What we have here is a definite gem of a game. It’s little wonder GameFly is having a hard time getting these back from their renters.

While I generally enjoy the artistic talent that went into “The World Ends With You,” there is one noteworthy flaw in the character design. I’m a little distracted when nearly every cutscene clubs me with Shiki’s overexposed thighs. Youth culture fashion or not, that’s a pretty provocative outfit, and this draws undue attention from the game. In any case, I honestly didn’t buy the game with this in mind.

[Edit: I notice I’m getting some hits from people looking for information on how to rip sprites. I’m afraid I don’t do that myself, the above link was generated from a simple Google search, and I grieflinked it as a lazy form of citation.

For information on ripping sprites, you’re going to want to check with the hosting site, as it has some information on that including tutorials and a forum. As for me, I don’t rip sprites, I try to use my own content or content in the public domain whenever possible.]

2 Responses

  1. How did you got that image? I’m interested about tweaking with the game’s textures. Thank you.

  2. Sorry, I should have cited my sources better. As you can see in the link, it’s hosted at http://sdb.drshnaps.com/. I didn’t create the image, you’re going to have to ask over there how they got those. Their contact information page is at http://sdb.drshnaps.com/Contact.htm, but it seems the owner would prefer you ask over the forums if you can’t understand the tutorials on that site.

Leave a Reply

