Thumbs Up On Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning

Sold.

Alright, you magnificent Mythic/EA bastards, I’m sold on Warhammer Online.  I went down to the game shop and put down a preorder.   Not a $5 pre-order, but the full price.

I did this without lingering reservations I had towards Age of Conan, which went something like, “well Age of Conan is great but…”  There is no “but” here, Warhammer Online is simply worth the purchase.

Spore sure didn’t last long, did it?

I don’t have a whole lot (read: any) income right now.  So why, in my mind, was my Warhammer Online purchase justified?  Well, WordPress stats show that the Internet is an impatient microcosm, so I’ll keep this short.

I like WOR because…

…it’s a fun massively multiplayer online game, and those are hard to come by…

…it borrows some of the best parts from nearly every existing MMORPG…

Warhammer Onlines horticulture gathering minigame.  You can manage up to 4 plots of virtual land like this.

Warhammer Online's horticulture gathering minigame. You can manage up to 4 plots of virtual land like this.

…it has some unique parts of its very own…

…the way the parts of this game were put together reflects a great deal of MMORPG experience on behalf of the developers…

…the classes are simple to understand yet acceptably deep in their play…

…the public quest areas, which bring all the players hunting an area together for a common goal, are genius…

…the Realm versus Realm implementation, which includes a nice matchmaking system for fair fights or more traditional RvR that may peak in a capital city siege, is genius…

…the trade skill mini-games, such as a horticulture game where you raise a seed into a plant, are kinda artsy…

…between PvE, the public quest areas, PvP matchmaking, RvR, and trade skills, there’s a good variety of fairly meaningful activities available – WOR diversifies well, and this mitigates tedium…

…amongst WOR’s diverisified gameplay is enough attention to detail that the game does not suffer from overreaching…

…dealing with pickup groups is easy due to the slick looking-for-group interface…

…I still haven’t seen some of the best parts of the game…

…and finally, because I didn’t play much World of Warcraft.  Now, I get to burn myself out on an improved World of Warcraft instead.

In other words, Warhammer Online Successfully Pushes The Genre Forward.  Does it completely innovate?  No, it pushes the genre forward the traditional way: by standing on the shoulders of giants.  However, stand it does – it stands alone even as it does so on the shoulders of giants.  That’s a pretty good parlor trick, you have to admit.

Is it perfect?  Also no.  From what I’m seeing in the build I’m playing now – being less than two days from early pre-order head start I really would not call this beta build unless I was naive – there are a few niggling bugs.  Some spell FX are getting stuck, the journal sometimes gets corrupted, the servers tend to crash every once in awhile, the end user agreement placement clashes badly on the login screen, and so on.

In an ideal world, these bugs would not be there are release.  However, none of these bugs are a major game breaker.  Age of Conan was launched with worse, and it was fine.

Collector’s edition pre-order head start begins on Sunday.  I’m a normal (non-collector) pre-order customer, so I begin on the Tuesday head start.  The actual launch for people who have not pre-ordered is on Thursday.  I’m looking forward to seeing how well WOR is received.

2 Responses

  1. I still haven’t made time to try out the open beta… Looks like this one has promise! Who knew? (all the fanbois, apparently).

    I’ll probably jump in as well, though minus a guild.

  2. All I can say is that even the fanbois can be right once in awhile, in much the same way a broken clock is 😉

Leave a Reply

