I need to play less, create more.

I’m not sure what public significance this has, other than perhaps putting myself under a bit of peer pressure to get this done.

Currently, I have four games on the forefront of my mind:

  • Dragon Age – This game is still completely rocking my world with a highly involving storyline, extremely well refined game mechanics, ect.  Before I started reading the reviews, I figured this game would be a crappy Baldur’s Gate throwback Bioware cranked out to get a cheap buck. They surpassed my expectations in that they haven’t just produced what they know with this game.  Instead, they’ve defined the state of the art, something that requires actually setting the bar higher.
  • Borderlands – I know how the game ends, I’ve read it, but I haven’t experienced how the game ends.  It deserves at least one full playthrough – it’s not a bad game at all.  It’s sort of what Hellgate: London should have been – a game that marries the perpetual loot grinding retread enjoyment of Diablo with visceral action gameplay.  Borderlands proves what Hellgate was ultimately lacking was a clearer vision leading to time to perform a lot more refinement.  (To an extent, I would say Champions Online is similarly pigeonholed.)
  • X3: Reunion – Surprisingly, this fossil (not to be confused with the 2008 release) is producing a genuine desire to play right now.  I’m not sure why, exactly.  I just got done maligning it for several good reasons.  However, as of this writing, my character started as a storyline-disabled space trader has five transports being remotely ordered about the universe, and I’m sort of curious how life would be if I earned enough credits to have six… or eight… or twenty.  I don’t like grinds, and what this game is putting me through right now is definitely that, but there’s something to be said for an adequate payout.  Going from lone space trader in a flimsy fighter craft to commanding a whole space empire from the seat of a gigantic fighter carrier carries with it a certain clout.
  • Champions Online – Sure, I’m burned out from it, but maybe if I play it a whole lot less I can enjoy it again.  It’s been about a week since I dared so much as bounce off their login server, and perhaps absence is making the heart grow fonder.  However, though I may miss its pretty face, we’re not exactly on speaking terms right now.

So, what’s the problem?  After all, the gaming god delivereth.  Any one of these games could eat up a weekend as easily as I can blink.  I’m not burned out from three out of four of them.  Further, I’ve another half-dozen games on the mental back burner.

Well, the thing is I have a game of my own that I’m developing, the skills I learn from developing it are probably a whole lot more important to my survival than just playing games for fun, and not to mention it is in many ways quite innovative and a worthwhile contribution to the world.

Further, there’s no real rush to burning out from these games – I could probably enjoy them just as much if I paced myself a bit.  Perhaps it’s a sign of adulthood that I can have a giant pile of awesome sitting directly in front of me and be willing to pry myself off it knowing that said pile of awesome will still be there later.

I thought today (Friday) would be a good day for that, but a fellow does need at least one day of rest a week, if he can get it.  I spent said day in X3 and accomplished virtually nothing.  I topped it off by purchasing an ore mine, placing it on a high-yield ore asteroid, and noticing that even with a nice 1 ore to 6 energy cell ratio, the cost to produce my own ore was more expensive than to simply buy it from the nearby ore mines.  Yeah… I’m thinking the grind may not be worth it after all.

One Response

  1. Actually, doing a bit of research on motivation, it seems that making promises (and getting upset about not seeing them through) is perhaps one of the worst ways to motivate one’s self. It’s far better to simply undo the negative thinking with the activity you want to do that is putting one off it. By forcing myself to do something, I make it seem like it’s something one needs to force themselves to do.

Comments are closed.

